What I Ate Wednesday

Good afternoon folks!

I’ve seen a few “What I Ate Wednesday” posts amongst the healthy bloggers a few times and, as today is actually Wednesday, I decided to give it a try.  I woke up feeling really blah and bland from a day of crappy eating yesterday so I knew I needed to make some better decisions today.

First up, a container of Oikos yogurt and granola as well as a Tablespoon of chia seeds:

Then, I added two of these delicious No-Bake Energy Bites courtesy of Smashed Peas and Carrots, the recipe can be found here.

After I moped around the apartment for a few hours feeling unmotivated and searching for new jobs on the internet (when I should have been focusing on my own business instead), I decided I needed to stop being so lazy and get my butt in gear.  I whipped up 36oz of some iced peach tea in my giant pink cup (somehow, drinking from a straw is just more exciting than a regular glass) and went about sending some emails and running a few errands.

Then, as a reward for not buying any junk food while I was out running errands (this definitely took some serious discipline), I whipped up a giant Green Monster (which also went in the obnoxious pink straw cup).

Before:

After!:

In the mix:

-A large handful of spinach

-1 Cup almond milk

-1 Tablespoon chia seeds

-1 very ripe banana

-1 handful frozen strawberries and blueberries

-2 Tablespoons vanilla protein powder

-a few ice cubes

While making the green monster, I also prepared my dinner ahead of time in a tupperware container in order to trick my mind into believing it has to eat it because it’s already prepared in the fridge rather than ordering some fast food or just grabbing the piece of junk food closest to me when dinner time rolls around.  I know that sounds really pathetic but I’m feeling as though I have no self control today and self-sabotage would be likely.

I threw together a tuna/spinach salad consisting of:

-large handful of spinach

-1 small packet tuna

-1 chopped roma tomato

-chopped green onions

-a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil

-a small squirt of light mayo

-small handful of almond slivers

-small handful of bagel chips, crunched

-sprinkle of shredded mozzarella cheese

In the meantime–I think I’m going to spend the rest of the day building up my jewelry inventory so I can open up an Etsy store!  I’ve been planning this for a little while but I haven’t had any jewelry on hand, I always end up giving it away to someone as a gift or making it just because someone requested it.  I plan on posting some pics of my handmade creations soon!

I’m also going to try to motivate myself to log a few miles on this little beauty:

I ordered it online a few weeks ago when I received a bonus from my insurance selling gig, this way I could cancel my gym membership and it would pay for itself in a few months.  However, I ran into a little snag when I attempted to do a Jillian Michael’s workout DVD in my living room and my downstairs neighbor complained that her pictures were nearly falling off of her walls because I was jumping (I hope that means I was doing it right).  So, after that incident, I knew I couldn’t set the treadmill up at my place so I patiently waited for my wonderful boyfriend to set it up in his basement–he’s been in the middle of renovating his house and hasn’t been able to actually live in it until this week.  This is a lovely shot of the bar in the basement–don’t worry–I plan on painting that ugly paneling white ASAP.  Dane (the boyfriend) would also like me to point out the awesome St. Louis Rams bar stools in the shot.

I’ll give you my full treadmill review tomorrow.  In the meantime, ponder these questions…

Do you self-sabotage with your diet and exercise plans?

What tricks do you use to keep yourself on track?

2 responses

  1. 1. My body doesn’t let me eat as much spinach as yours
    2. It’s a shame about what happened with Jillian Michael’s work-out DVD at your apartment, but I am sticking with her as my trick to keep myself on track. That and chicken chimichangas.

    • It’s so sad that your body won’t tolerate spinach, it’s such a mild and lovable vegetable. And, your success with Jillian gives me inspiration while your mention of delicious Mexican food has now made me hungry…what are friends for, right?

Leave a Reply

