Why You Need A Man

In honor of my upcoming New Year’s trip with the sexy bald man (we leave tomorrow–whee!)–today’s post is dedicated to the topic of dating older men.  This is in no way meant to offend anyone who may be partial to dating in other age groups or even to encourage young girls to chase much older men, I’m simply sharing my experience.

Also, I recently read this absolutely hilarious excerpt from The Office’s Mindy Kaling’s new book titled, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? that I read on Glamour.com.


The Office is one of my all-time favorite shows and since Mindy Kaling is a writer for said favorite show, it only makes sense that her book would be awesome.  Mindy’s book is a series of essays and one is dedicated to dating older men.  I haven’t been able to find her book in good old rural Iowa yet and I haven’t gotten around to ordering it online, but I plan on picking it up at the airport tomorrow 🙂

In the meantime, this teaser has me very excited to dig into the rest of this book:

Until I was 30, I dated only boys. I’ll tell you why: Men scared the sh*t out of me. Men know what they want. Men own alarm clocks. Men sleep on a mattress that isn’t on the floor. Men buy new shampoo instead of adding water to a nearly empty bottle of shampoo. Men make reservations. Men go in for a kiss without giving you some long preamble about how they’re thinking of kissing you. Men wear clothes that have never been worn by anyone else before.

OK, maybe men aren’t exactly like this. But this is what I’ve cobbled together from the handful of men I know or know of, ranging from Heathcliff Huxtable to Theodore Roosevelt to my dad. The point: Men know what they want, and that is scary.

What I was used to was boys.

Boys are adorable. Boys trail off their sentences in an appealing way. Boys get haircuts from their roommate, who “totally knows how to cut hair.” Boys can pack up their whole life and move to Brooklyn for a gig if they need to. Boys have “gigs.” Boys are broke. And when they do have money, they spend it on a trip to Colorado to see a music festival.

Boys can talk for hours with you in a diner at three in the morning because they don’t have regular work hours. But they suck to date when you turn 30.”

Read more of the excerpt here.
Anyhow, even though I’m clearly not a successful writer for a popular comedic TV show on NBC, Mindy stole the words right out of my mouth.  I had been dating boys until I found Dane. Dane owns  an old school alarm clock from the 80’s and won’t part with it even though he now uses his cell phone for an alarm like everyone else I know.  He doesn’t use shampoo (since he’s bald) but I found some in his bathroom anyway (for guests)–how much more of a real man can he be?
He owns his own home and a business as well as having a real day job too–Mindy would totally agree that this one is a keeper.  Aside from all of those manly traits, he’s a truly amazing guy and I couldn’t be happier.  The fact that he is a couple (ok, more than a couple) years older than me is a complete non-issue for us.
I’ll stop bragging about my amazing boyfriend now :).
2 responses

  1. LOL, thanks! Abby can certainly have a post soon, I’ll need to come and get some great pictures of her first, though 🙂

    Also, I’m not sure why everything got scrunched up at the bottom there, there are supposed to be line breaks, hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

