WIAW and a revelation about myself

It’s time for another segment of What I Ate Wednesday!

 

I feel like it’s been forever since I posted but I’m ready to get back into the swing!  Las Vegas was ah-mazing and I plan on sharing some photos with you soon!  First, however, I want to tell you about my New Year resolution!  It’s your stereotypical get-back-in-shape, stick-to-a-fitness/healthy-eating-routine resolution BUT it’s such an exciting one!  I first heard about Jamie Eason’s LiveFit 12-Week-Trainer from Clare, since she is planning to start the plan later this month.  I’m jumping in headfirst today!

Jamie’s plan involves three phases.  Phase 1 (which lasts the first 4 weeks) is weight-lifting only, no cardio.  The nutrition and workout plan focus on building lean muscle.  And, as we all know, the more lean muscle you have, the more fat you burn.  I plan on hitting the gym (ie. Dane’s basement) later tonight and the first workout seems fairly basic as far as weight lifting goes.

You see, I haven’t told you this before, but….I’m no stranger to weight lifting (cue sappy music and film reel of old memories).

I haven’t spent a TON of time on my “About” page yet (which I’m sure you have already noticed and made a mental note about how crappy it looks) because I’m still kind of mentally figuring out what I want to say about myself as an introduction.  I plan on fleshing it out more as it feels right.  ANYWAY–what I haven’t told you yet is that, for two awesome years, I was a member of the Division I Varsity Women’s Crew team at Drake University.  It was a blast!

That's me, second from the back!I’m second from the back, I was part of what’s known as the “bow pair”, Starboard forever! (I’m guessing only rowers or boat enthusiasts will understand that).

I’m second from the right in this picture, sitting up in the boat like a weirdo when I was probably supposed to be rowing :).

 

When we weren’t on the water, we were indoors on rowing machines (since it gets cold in Iowa, yo!), or in the weight room.  There were two rowing seasons–spring and fall–so we worked out year round.  We even had a separate weight lifting coach.  I could dead-lift like nobody’s business and we chugged muscle milk together after practice like we were giant, muscular football players, we were awesome.  I was never so tired or so hungry (from working out so much) in my life but it’s such a great team sport and cardiovascular exercise!

So, the point I’m trying to make is that I’m really excited to start Jamie Eason’s LiveFit plan because I’m familiar with a lot of the exercises, I just haven’t done them consistently in a couple years.  Which leads me to what I ate today, as I followed Jamie’s meal plan to the T–I’m nothing if not a sucker for sticking to a plan.  I may adjust down the road as my body needs it, but for now I’m just really hoping I’ll be able to keep up my motivation and stick with this plan for 12 weeks!

Eats for the day:

Breakfast was 5 egg whites scrambled with a handful of spinach, some tomato, green onions and a little garlic salt with a side of Apple Cinnamon oatmeal packet, Full Circle brand (I typically buy rolled oats in a bulk bag but I’ve had these packets sitting in the cupboard for a while and they fit Jamie’s portion exactly 🙂 ).

Mid-morning snack was some greek yogurt, frozen blueberries and raspberries, chia seeds and a little cinnamon:

Lunch was 3/4 C. of chickpeas, 60z. chicken breast, spinach, tomato, green onions, Parmesan cheese and some balsamic vinaigrette:

 

Late afternoon snack was 4 squares of homemade carrot protein bars which I made this morning from one of Jamie Eason’s recipes, which can be found here.  They actually turned out pretty yummy, I’ll try the pumpkin version next time.  Sorry the picture turned out a little funky :(.

Dinner tonight will be extremely similar to lunch.  A spinach salad with 6oz. chicken and maybe some quinoa or whole wheat noodles instead of chickpeas and maybe a few more veggies.

Alright, that’s all I’ve got, have a good night!

Leave a Reply

